Election Commission announces dates of Election in 5 states

Product by:

Reviewed by:
On January 4, 2017
Last modified:January 4, 2017


Election Commission announces dates of Election :UP in 7 phases starting Feb 11; Goa, Punjab on Feb 4; Uttarakhand on Feb 15; Manipur on March 4,8

Election Commission announces dates of Election

  • Uttar Pradesh will vote in seven phases starting February 11 with the final round of polling for the politically crucial state on March 8, the election commission announced on Wednesday.
  • Uttar Pradesh Election dates are February 11, 15, 19, 23 and 27 and on March 4 and 8
  • Punjab and Goa will vote in a single phase on February 4.
  • Uttarakhand will vote on February 15 and Manipur in two phases on March 4 and 8.
  • Counting of votes in all five states will take place on March 11.
  • In all, some 160 million people will be eligible to vote in these five states.
READ  iPhone 7 Burst Into Flames and Damages Car : Live Videos

Election Commission announces dates of Election

  • The elections are seen as a test of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s policies, including a contentious ban on high-value banknotes and a decision to strike militants across India’s de facto border with Pakistan.
  • The polls are billed by many experts as a potential “semi-final” for the 2019 general elections.
  • The polls are also crucial for the future of smaller parties.
  • The vote comes at a time when the Samajwadi Party, which rules Uttar Pradesh, is wracked by an internal power struggle.
  • It will also determine whether Aam Aadmi Party, which will contest for the first time in Punjab, can widen its influence beyond Delhi.
READ  Air India Pilot sacked to Risk 200 Lives With 'Mood Swings'
Election Commission announces dates of ElectionElection Commission announces dates of Election
  • For the first time, ballots will carry photos of candidates.
  • The election commission also announced a set of new rules for candidates contesting the elections, including opening separate bank accounts to pay for campaign expenses.
  • The panel said candidates must pay from these accounts by cheque for any campaign expense above Rs20,000.
  • They will have to provide all details of expenses to the commission by no later than 75 days after the elections.
  • Candidates in Uttar Pradesh, Punjab and Uttarakhand can spend Rs28 lakh each, while those in Goa and Manipur can spend up to Rs20 lakh each.
  • They will also have to furnish an additional affidavit undertaking that they do not have any outstanding government bills.
  • With the announcement of the voting dates, a model code of conduct kicks in, restricting the central and state governments from announcing new schemes and sops.
READ  Tubelight heroine: Not Deepika nor Katrina Kaif. But she is.....




TagsElection Commission announcement,Election Commission new rules,Uttar Pradesh Election date,Punjab Election date,Goa Election date,Uttarakhand Election date,Manipur Election date


Leave a Reply